„I became a beer sommelier because it satisfies my passion to offer creatively crafted brews to people who enjoy exploring new tastes.“
Karl Schiffner, beer sommelier world champion 2009

„The ability to convey my passion for beer – and I do enjoy ALL the world’s beer styles – is one of my primary tasks as Beersommelier.“
Sebastian B. Priller-Riegele, Beersommelier world champion 2011

„Living beer culture means sharing the beer experience to surprise and inspire. Beer represents diversity and offers something for everyone and every situation. Beer is not just beer; It is my goal, therefore, to encourage constant exploration and discussion.“
Oliver Wesseloh, Beersommelier world champion 2013

„Beer and beer culture are my passion and my life: beer culture for me is enjoying a tasteful beer understanding how, where and when it is made, it is recognizing the hand of the brewer and taste his motherland at every sip.“
Simonmattia Riva, Beersommelier world champion 2015

„From the beginning, we have supported the World Cup of Beersommeliers . Many of our own employees have successfully completed their sommelier training. One thing’s for sure: who could better describe the wonderfully aromatic contribution of hops and who could make beer more desirable than a Beersommelier?“
Stephan Barth, Managing Director, Barth-Haas Group (Major Sponsor)

„The World Cup of Beersommeliers and drinktec is just a good fit. We attract breweries from all over the world, big conglomerates as well as small and medium-sized enterprises. And our new ‚place2beer’ is the perfect meeting point for all brewers. Thus, drinktec is the ideal platform for this World Cup program and and we are happy to be a major sponsor.“
Petra Westphal, project group leader drinktec, Messe München (Major Sponsor)

World cup

The Worldcup of Beersommeliers takes place bi-annually at varying venues, organised and managed by Doemens Academy, Inc. of Gräfelfing. In 2017 a champion will be crowned from among the ranks of more than 3,000 trained beer sommeliers, this time in Munich in the run-up to the drinktec, the world’s leading trade fair for the beverage and liquid food industry. 70 Beersommeliers from various nations were selected to attend the event and had their knowledge and skills put to the ultimate test. Stephan Hilbrandt from Germany is the new World Champion of Beersommeliers. Stephan Hilbrandt from Germany was the one who was most persuasived and best encapsulated the story of brewing culture and beer diversity and was crowned therefore to the new World Champion of Beer Sommeliers

About the World Cup

What is behind the World Cup of Beersommeliers? Read here who is behind the World Cup, how it runs and what makes it so special.


Current press releases, background information and interviews with former world champions. Here you will find all important information as a press representative.


News about the World Cup, the world of the Beersommeliers and the world of  savour “Beer” are waiting for you in the news section.

„Ich bin Biersommelier geworden, weil meine Leidenschaft, genussvolle Kreationen genussfreudigen Menschen anzubieten, hier gestillt wird.“
Karl Schiffner, Biersommelier Weltmeister 2009

„Die Fähigkeit, die Leidenschaft für Bier zu vermitteln – und damit meine ich ALLE weltweiten Bierstile – und den Biergenuss zu fördern, gehört zu meinen primären Aufgaben als Biersommelier“
Sebastian B. Priller-Riegele, Biersommelier Weltmeister 2011

„Gelebte Bierkultur bedeutet für mich, Biere gemeinsam zu erleben, die überraschen und begeistern. Bier ist Vielfalt und bietet für jeden und jede Situation etwas. Es gibt nicht das eine Bier; daher ist es mein Ziel, zum ständigen ProBieren und Darüberreden anzuregen.“
Oliver Wesseloh, Biersommelier Weltmeister 2013

„Bier und Bierkultur sind meine Leidenschaft und mein Leben. Bierkultur ist für mich, ein gutes Bier zu genießen und dabei zu verstehen, wie, wo und wann es gemacht wurde, den Brauer zu kennen, sein Handwerk anzuerkennen und den Geschmack seiner Heimat bei jedem Schluck zu schmecken.“
Simonmattia Riva, Biersommelier Weltmeister 2015

„Von Anfang an haben wir die Weltmeisterschaft unterstützt. Viele unserer Mitarbeiter haben ihre Ausbildung zum Biersommelier erfolgreich absolviert. Denn eines ist sicher: Wer könnte die wunderbaren Aromen des Hopfens im Bier besser beschreiben, wer könnte mehr Lust auf Bier machen als Biersommeliers?“
Stephan Barth, Geschäftsführer Barth-Haas Group (Hauptsponsor)

„Die Weltmeisterschaft der Sommeliers für Bier und die drinktec – das passt einfach zusammen. Wir sprechen Brauer aus aller Welt an, Großkonzerne ebenso wie kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen. Und unser neuer place2beer ist der perfekte Anlaufpunkt für alle Brauer. Von daher ist die drinktec die ideale Plattform für diese Weltmeisterschaft. Gerne unterstützen wir die Weltmeisterschaft als Sponsor.“
Petra Westphal, Projektgruppenleiterin drinktec, Messe München (Hauptsponsor)

World cup der BeerSommeliers

Der World Cup der Biersommeliers findet alle zwei Jahre an wechselnden Austragungsorten statt, veranstaltet und durchgeführt von der Doemens Academy GmbH aus Gräfelfing. Auch 2017 wurde wieder der Champion aus den über 3.000 Biersommeliers gesucht, diesmal in München im Vorfeld der drinktec, Weltleitmesse für die Getränke- und Liquid-Food-Industrie. 70 Biersommeliers aus 15 Nationen treten an, um ihre Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten unter Beweis zu stellen. Stephan Hilbrandt war derjenige, der die Botschaft von Bierkultur und -vielfalt am besten präsentiert hat und wurde deshalb zum Sieger und somit neuen Weltmeister der Sommeliers für Bier gekürt.

Über den World Cup

Was steckt hinter dem World Cup der Beersommeliers? Lesen Sie hier wer hinter dem World Cup steckt, wie sie abläuft und was sie so besonders macht.

Presse

Aktuelle Pressemitteilungen, Hintergrundinfos und Interviews mit ehemaligen Weltmeistern. Hier finden Sie als Pressevertreter alle wichtigen Infos.

Aktuelles

Neuigkeiten rund um den World Cup, die Welt der Biersommeliers und die Genusswelt „Bier“ warten auf Sie im Bereich Aktuelles.