Jury

Dr. Wolfgang Stempfl

Dr. Wolfgang Stempfl has been Managing Director of the internationally renowned Brauakademie Doemens and the “intellectual father” of its Beersommelier training program since 2001, also bringing forth the Savor Academy – the place where all consumer experience-related topics around beer and mineral water are conveyed. He is a lecturer and head of theory and practice for Beersommelier education. He is also an expert in brewing and beverage technology in the consulting and training world, as well as organizer and judge at various national and international beer competitions (European Beer Star, Japan Beer Grand Prix and World Beer Cup). Stempfl, a doctor of food chemistry, has been working for Doemens Academy since 1987.

Petra Westphal

Since 2010, Petra Westphal has been leading the project group IV at Messe München, Inc. In addition to drinktec, the world’s leading trade fair for beverage and liquid food technology, she is also responsible for “drink technology India” in Mumbai as well as “food & drink technology Africa” in Johannesburg. In addition, the China Brew & China Beverage (CBB) in Beijing is co-organized by Messe München under her leadership. Petra Westphal has had many years of experience in event management. The qualified hotel manager has been working for Messe München since 1993, six years as project consultant and ten years as project manager of drinktec. Together with her entire project team, she learned to brew beer at Doemens and even created her own beer brand: “Orange Spirit made by drinktec Biermanufaktur”. Petra Westphal also has experience as a juror: Since 2001 she has served in this capacity at the prestigious European Beer Star competition.

Dr. Christina Schönberger

After studying brewing and beverage technology at the Technical University (TU) Munich-Weihenstephan, Dr. Christina Schönberger submitted her thesis titled “The Importance of Non-Volatile Flavoring in Beer”. Until January, 2005, Schönberger was an instructor for the German Brewery Association in Bonn in the areas of raw materials, technology and the promotion of science. Since 2005, she has been responsible for international customer technical consultation as Technical Sales Manager at Joh. Barth & Sohn. Dr. Schönberger’s specialties are biosensorics and hops research and she has been a regular contributor to numerous trade journals.

Johannes Einzenberger

Sommelier Johannes Einzenberger is the owner of the wine trading company wein4senses, has been in the wine business for 20 years and consults for the specialist restaurant trade. He has also been a lecturer and dean for the sommelier diploma program at WIFI Salzburg (Austrian Federal Commerce Development Academy) for the past 20 years as well as a lecturer at the Secondary Education College of Austria. He has been a certified authority for the wine and spirits trade since 2006. With his in-depth knowledge and years of experience, he is one of the most popular and sought-after speakers in the country on the topics of cheeses & wines.

Steffen Jost

Steffen Jost is an historian and historical monument educator and, since 2011, has been responsible for the Munich food and travel blog “Feed me up before you go-go” (www.feedmeupbeforeyougogo.de) along with his wife, Sabrina Kiefer. Recipes, culinary travel reports and the latest trends from the world of eating and drinking are shared with their readers. On several journeys through the USA, Steffen Jost enjoyed the wide variety of craft beer styles first-hand, searching for the most exciting beers, even those that did not adhere to the Beer Purity Law of 1516. At beer tastings he has been organizing, he likes to present unusual beer styles, he writes regularly on the blog about a variety of beer issues and even prepares meals using beer.

Christoph Kämpf

Christoph Kämpf has been Managing Director of the Karmeliten brewery since 2008 and President of the Verband der Diplom Biersommeliers (Association of Beersommeliers) since 2013. In that year, he received the Federal Prize for outstanding innovative services in craftsmanship of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology for the project “Energy-Efficient Brewery with Optimal Use of Raw Materials”. He is currently implementing the concept of energy-efficient breweries in the Karmeliten brewery and has thus already reduced his CO2 footprint by 40 percent. The brewery currently produces 20 different beer styles and has eight barrel-ripened beers, all brewed according to the Bavarian Beer Purity Law of 1516.

Simonmattia Riva

Simonmattia Riva has been a beer lover ever since a Chimay Grand Reserve changed his life on a memorable summer’s night in a remote mountain village. It was 1995, when the difference between the dark, frothy beer that smelled of dried figs, dates and dark chocolate and the light, thirst-quenching beverage he had become used to, prompted him to say: “If these two drinks are both beer, I’d like to try all kinds of beer.” While studying philosophy at the University of Milan, he traveled to Belgium, the Czech Republic, England and Germany to get to know the local beer styles and beer cultures. In 2007, he graduated from Unionbirrai in Italy, then in 2014 completed his training as Beersommelier at Doemens Academy. Since 2012, Simonmattia has been organizing tastings and taking part in Italian home-brew competitions. In 2015, he won the Sommeliers’ World Cup in São Paulo. Since then, Simonmattia has been a member of the Board of Directors of MoBI – Movimento Birrario Italiano and participated in tasting contests at numerous competitions (such as European Beer Star, Brussels Beer Challenge, Mondial de la Bière, Birra dell’Anno, Concurso Brasileiro da Cerveja). He gives advanced courses for the Doemens Italia, MoBI, Fermento Birra and Unionbirrai Tasters and writes for well-known beer magazines and guides in Italy. Mostly. however, he is a lover of great beers and can found every day tending bar and brewing beer at the Beer Garage Pub in Bergamo.

Cilene Saorin

Cilene Saorin is from Brazil, where she studied food engineering as graduation and marketing as post graduation. In addition, she completed her training as a master brewer at the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid – Escuela Superior de Cerveza y Malta in Spain and her education as beer sommelier at the Doemens Academy in Germany. She has more than 24 years of professional experience in beer production, supplier development, brewing research, beer tasting and sensory management, having worked to some of the world’s major brewing companies. She has worked for Brahma, Petrópolis, Antarctica and AmBev in Brazil (1992-2001) and FlavorActiV in the UK (2001-2006). Currently, she is an independent brewer and beer sommelier and works in consulting. Since 2002, she teaches sensory management in the brewing industry at the Escuela Superior de Cerveza y Malta in Spain. In addition, since 2008, she serves as a representative for the Doemens Academy in Latin America and Iberian Peninsula, which offers beer sommelier training. She is a jury member at both the World Beer Cup in the USA and the European Beer Star in Germany.

Jury

Dr. Wolfgang Stempfl

Dr. Wolfgang Stempfl ist seit 2001 Geschäftsführer der renommierten, international ausgerichteten Brauakademie Doemens und „geistiger Vater“ der Biersommelier-Ausbildung, die in die Gründung der Genussakademie mündete, in der alle genussorientierten Themen um Bier und Mineralwasser vermittelt werden. Er ist Referent und Leiter der theoretischen und praktischen Biersommelier-Ausbildung. Daneben ist er als Experte für Brauerei- und Getränkesensorik weltweit in der Beratung und Schulung im Einsatz, ebenso als Organisator und „Judge“ bei verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Bierprämierungen (European Beer Star, Japan Beer Grand Prix und World Beer Cup). Der promovierte Lebensmittelchemiker ist seit 1987 bei der Doemens Akademie tätig.

Petra Westphal

Petra Westphal führt im Geschäftsbereich IV der Messe München GmbH seit 2010 die Projektgruppe 4.2. Damit trägt sie neben der drinktec, der Weltleitmesse für Getränke- und Liquid-Food-Technologie, auch Verantwortung für die „drink technology India“ in Mumbai sowie die „food & drink technology Africa“ in Johannesburg. Zum weiteren Aufgabengebiet gehört die China Brew & China Beverage (CBB) in Peking, bei der die Messe München als Mitveranstalter fungiert. Petra Westphal verfügt über jahrlange Erfahrung im Messemanagement. Die gelernte Hotelkauffrau arbeitet seit 1993 für die Messe München, davon sechs Jahre als Projektreferentin und zehn Jahre als Projektleiterin der drinktec. Nicht nur wegen ihrer langjährigen Tätigkeit für die drinktec hat sie reichlich Erfahrung in Sachen Bier. Gemeinsam mit ihrem gesamten Projektteam hat sie bei Doemens das Bierbrauen erlernt und sogar eine eigene Biermarke kreiert, die „Orange Spirit made by drinktec Biermanufaktur“. Auch als Jurorin hat Petra Westphal Erfahrung: Seit 2012 gehört sie zum Kreis der Juroren des renommierten European Beer Star-Wettbewerbs.

Dr. Christina Schönberger

Dr. Christina Schönberger promovierte nach dem Studium Brauwesen und Getränketechnologie an der TU München-Weihenstephan zu dem Thema „Bedeutung nicht-flüchtiger Geschmacksstoffe in Bier“. Bis Januar 2005 war Schönberger Referentin beim Deutschen Brauer-Bund in Bonn für die Bereiche Rohstoffe, Technik und Wissenschaftsförderung. Seit 2005 ist sie als Manager Technical Sales bei Joh. Barth & Sohn für die internationale technische Kundenberatung verantwortlich. Ihre Spezialgebiete sind Biersensorik und Hopfenforschung, zu denen sie auch zahlreiche Beiträge in Fachzeitschriften verfasst hat.

Johannes Einzenberger

Diplom Sommelier Johannes Einzenberger ist Inhaber der Weinhandelsfirma wein4senses. Zusätzlich hat er sich auf Unternehmensberatung für Gastronomie und Fachhandel spezialisiert. Er weist eine mehr als 20-jährige Erfahrung im führenden Weinfachhandel auf. Seit über 20 Jahren ist er auch Referent und Lehrgangsleiter der Ausbildungen Diplom Sommelier & Diplom Käsesommelier am WIFI Salzburg und Referent der Pädagogischen Hochschule Österreichs. Er ist gerichtlich beeideter Sachverständiger für Wein und seit 2016 auch Gremialobmann des Salzburger Wein- und Spirituosenhandels. Mit seinem fundierten Wissen und seiner langjährigen Tätigkeit zählt er zu den profiliertesten und meistgefragten Referenten des Landes für Käse & Wein.

Steffen Jost

Steffen Jost ist Historiker und Gedenkstättenpädagoge und betreibt seit 2011 mit seiner Frau Sabrina Kiefer den Münchner Food- und Travel-Blog „Feed me up before you go-go“ (www.feedmeupbeforeyougogo.de). Dort teilen die beiden Rezepte, kulinarische Reiseberichte und die neuesten Trends aus der Welt des Essens und Trinkens mit ihren Leserinnen und Lesern. Auf diversen Reisen durch die USA tauchte Steffen Jost trinkenderweise in die Vielfalt der Craft-Beer-Bewegung ein und begab sich danach auch in Deutschland auf die Suche nach den spannendsten Bieren dies- und jenseits des Reinheitsgebots. Mit Tastings versucht er seitdem, die Welt von Brauereien abseits des Massenmarkts zu überzeugen, und schreibt auf dem Blog regelmäßig über Bierthemen (oder kocht gleich damit).

Christoph Kämpf

Christoph Kämpf ist seit 2008 Geschäftsführer der Karmeliten Brauerei und seit 2013 Präsident des Verbandes der Diplom Biersommeliers. 2013 hat er den Bundespreis für hervorragende innovative Leistungen für das Handwerk vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie für das Projekt „Energieautarke Brauerei mit optimaler Rohstoffnutzung“ erhalten. Zurzeit setzt er in der Karmeliten Brauerei das Konzept der energieautarken Brauerei um und konnte so zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt den CO2-Foodprint bereits um 40 Prozent reduzieren. Die Brauerei braut zurzeit 20 verschiedene Bierstile und hat acht fassgereifte Biere, die alle nach dem Bayerischen Reinheitsgebot von 1516 gebraut sind.

Simonmattia Riva

Simonmattia Riva ist Bierliebhaber, seit ein Chimay Grand Reserve in einer sternenklaren Sommernacht in einem Bergdorf sein Leben verändert hat. Es war 1995, als der Unterschied zwischen dem dunklen, schaumigen Bier, das nach getrockneten Feigen, Datteln und dunkler Schokolade roch, und dem leichten, durstlöschenden Lager, das er bis dahin trank, ihn dazu brachten zu sagen: „Wenn diese beiden Getränke Bier heißen, möchte ich alle Arten von Bier trinken.“ Während er Philosophie an der Universität in Mailand studierte, reiste er nach Belgien, Tschechien, England und Deutschland, um dort die beheimateten Bierstile und die Bierkultur kennenzulernen. 2007 machte er den Abschluss an der Unionbirrai in Italien, 2014 folgte die Ausbildung zum Biersommelier an der Doemens Akademie. Seit 2012 veranstaltet Simonmattia Verkostungen und nimmt an italienischen Heimbrauerwettbewerben als Verkoster teil. 2015 gewann er den World Cup der Beersommeliers in São Paulo. Seitdem ist Simonmattia Vorstandsmitglied der MoBI – Movimento Birrario Italiano – und Teil des Verkosterteams zahlreicher Wettbewerbe (z.B. European Beer Star, Brussels Beer Challenge, Mondial de la Bière, Birra dell’Anno, Concurso Brasileiro da Cerveja). Er gibt Weiterbildungskurse für die Doemens Italia, MoBI, Fermento Birra und Unionbirrai Tasters und schreibt für die wichtigsten Biermagazine und -führer Italiens. An erster Stelle jedoch ist er ein großartiger Bierliebhaber, den man täglich im Beer Garage Pub in Bergamo antrifft, wo er arbeitet.

Cilene Saorin

Cilene Saorin kommt aus Brasilien. Sie studierte Lebensmitteltechnik und hat sich zudem in Marketing spezialisiert. Ferner absolvierte sie die Ausbildung zur Braumeisterin an der Universidad Politécnica de Madrid – Escuela Superior de Cerveza y Malta in Spanien und die Ausbildung zur Biersommelière an der Doemens Academy in Deutschland. Sie hat mehr als 20 Jahre professionelle Erfahrung in der Bierproduktion, Lieferantenentwicklung, Brauforschung und Bierverkostung und war in einigen der größten Braukonzerne tätig. Fünf Jahre (von 2001 bis 2006) arbeitete sie als Beraterin im Verkostungsmanagement bei Brahma, Petrópolis, Antarctica und AmBev in Brasilien sowie bei FlavorActiV in Großbritannien. Derzeit ist sie mit ihrer eigenen Firma in der Unternehmensberatung als Braumeisterin und Biersommelière tätig. Seit 2002 lehrt sie an der Escuela Superior de Cerveza y Malta in Madrid im Bereich Sensory Management in the Brewing Industry. Zusätzlich fungiert sie als Repräsentantin für die Doemens Academy in Brasilien, Portugal und Spanien, die die Ausbildung zum Biersommelier anbietet, sowie als Jurymitglied beim World Beer Cup in den USA und dem European Beer Star in Deutschland.